The state of Tamaulipas has a total area of ​​7,942,605.8 ha, of which 3,795,182.5 corresponds to the forest area, which is equivalent to 47.8% of the state territory, while the non-forest areas cover 4,147,423.3 ha (52.2% of the territory), in where the main activities are seasonal agriculture and cultivated pasture. The municipalities that have the largest forest area are Soto la Marina and Tula, while the one with the least forest area is Río Bravo, as well as Ciudad Madero and Valle Hermoso, which do not have forest area.

The main timber species that our State has are: The Tropical Commons, Pine, Encino, Other leafy and Other coniferous.

For the non-timber species with which Tamaulipas counts are: Palma Real, Lechuguilla, Rod for tutor, Camerer palm, Paixtle, Vine guide, Oregano leaf, Buds and Laurel.

In the 2001 year, the Federal Government of Mexico launched the strategic forestry program 2025 (PEF 2025). Subsequently, in 2002, the General Law of Sustainable Forest Development (LGDFS) was promulgated. These two elements have as main objectives to promote: the conservation and protection of forest resources and their sustainable development. These policy instruments, in turn, pursue greater forest decentralization to States, with the corresponding long-term strategic forestry programs and state forestry laws as fundamental parts.

With the aforementioned base, the Government of the State of Tamaulipas with the support of CONAFOR, decided to integrate the PEFT 2025, whose process started in January of 2006.

Historically, Tamaulipas did not escape a general process that took place in Mexico, of massive clearings in tropical and subtropical zones to open new areas to agriculture and livestock, nor to the processes of degradation of vast forest areas for different reasons. Currently deforestation and clearing have entered a clear downward trend, so priorities should be oriented to conserve, protect and sustainably manage the remaining resources, and initiate more intensively the restoration of degraded areas.

The federal government, through CONAFOR and the State Government, is channeling important support for the forestry sector, which is why a new stage has begun towards the reconstruction and sustainability of forest resources.

Tamaulipas is made up of 5 Forest Management Units, each of which is made up of several municipalities. In this section we will show the Forest Management Units that have already initiated regional forest studies in Tamaulipas.

All rights reserved © 2019 / Government of the State of Tamaulipas 2016 - 2022