Citizen Services


San Fernando


To speak of the history of San Fernando, is to bring to mind the figure of José de Escandón and Helguera, Count of the Sierra Gorda, who carried out the colonization of the Nuevo Santander, today Tamaulipas.

For this purpose, José de Escandón drew up a plan for colonization, which began with Tula, came down from the highlands through Ocampo (Santa Barbara), continued northwards through Xicoténcatl (Escandón) and Llera, and then continued through Villa de Aguayo (Ciudad Victoria). ), Güémez, Padilla, Santander (Jiménez), San Fernando and Reynosa.

Thus, the Villa of San Fernando de la Llave, also called San Fernando de Presas, was founded the 19 March of 1749 near a place called Barra de Salinas, where originally there were already some settlements of Indians pintos. It was founded under the dedication of San José with 251 settlers from Cadereyta, Nuevo León, under the command of Don Fernando Sánchez Zamora. Due to a flood that occurred in 1751, the location was changed to the place it currently occupies for the 1757 year, just eight after the foundation. There were in the village 76 families with 393 people, as well as 150 Indians, cabopeños and comeruudos, subject to doctrine and bell, in the place known as the Mission.

Chronology of historical events

  • 1749 The March 19, founding of the city.
  • 1751 Due to a flood, the place where it was originally founded was changed.

Illustrious people

  • Pascual Barcársel Aguirre
  • Rafael Cárdenas Cepeda, Military, revolutionary and political (1890-1956)
  • Pedro Paredes and Serna (1760-1841)
  • Candelario Reyes Flores (1895-1979)
  • Artemio Villafaña Padilla, Teacher and geographer, driver of education in Tamaulipas (1898-)

Architectural monuments

Municipal Palace, built in the year of 1850; Church of San Fernando; former Ponciano Arriaga Federal High School; old Mercado Hidalgo; the construction quarter of mid-century; Benito Juarez Square, Manuel Cavazos Lerma Stadium, José Ma. Morelos and Pavón Monument, José de Escandón monuments.

Historical monuments

Monument to the Mother, located at the southern entrance of San Fernando.

Popular parties

The May 30 festivities are held in honor of the Patron Saint, San Fernando.


Beef and goat barbecue.


The municipal head is located in the town of San Fernando, in the coordinates 24º50 'of north latitude and 98º09' of west longitude, at a height of 40 meter above sea level.

It limits to the North with the Municipalities of Rio Bravo and Matamoros; to the South with those of Abasolo and Soto La Marina; to the East with the Laguna Madre and the Gulf of Mexico and to the West with the Municipalities of Méndez, Burgos and Cruillas.

Its territorial extension is 6,091.36 square kilometers, which represents 6.88% of the total surface of the State.

It is integrated by 333 localities, being the main ones: the municipal head, Colonia Agrícola, Francisco González Villarreal, and the Ejidos Francisco Villa, San Germán, Guadalupe Victoria (The Northerner), La Loma, Palo Solo, The Road, Aztec Eagle, Enlargement La Loma, Ampliación La Carreta and Alfredo V. Bonfil and Ampliación San Germán.


The municipality's hydrological resources are basically composed of the Conchos River or San Fernando River, which forms the basin of the same name. This river has its origin in the State of Nuevo León, when the Linares, Potosí and Conchos rivers join; enters Tamaulipas by the Municipality of Burgos and serves as a boundary between the two States, with a length of 45 kilometers, through the Municipalities of Burgos, Méndez and San Fernando, finally flowing into the Laguna Madre.

The basin has an area of ​​17.44 square kilometers, of which 50.4% (8.943 square kilometers) belong to Tamaulipas and the rest to Nuevo León; the most important tributaries are the Conchos, Radillos and the Pamona, Fresnos, San José, Burgos, Los Anegados, Tapeste, San Lorenzo, Salado and Chorreras rivers.


The predominant climate is of a semi-dry warm type very extreme, with the presence of canicula. The annual average temperatures are of 24ºC and the average pluvial precipitation of 600 millimeters.


In the Municipality the following forms of relief are presented: the flat areas located to the north, center and east of the Municipality (80 percent) and to the west and portion of the southern part, the semi-planes (20 percent).

Classification and land use

In the extensive flat lands that conform this Municipality, the deep soils of alluvial origin predominate and in the coastal strip those of coastal influence. Most soils rest on hard layers, which inherit very clayey textures. the coastal zone and some areas are characterized by having a uniform slope, subject to flooding with saline or hydromorphic soils. In land tenure the ejidal property regime predominates, and the use is basically agricultural and livestock.

Flora and fauna

The natural vegetation has been eliminated and in its place there are large areas dedicated to agriculture. In areas near the coast, there are types of vegetation adapted to the salinity and flood conditions that prevail there. The most common types of vegetation in this class of areas are: the halophyte, in the saline and floodplains, which are composed mainly of salted grass (distivhis spicata), saladilla (donia tampiscensis), romerillo (sualda nigeria), alkaline zacatlán ( sporobulos arraides).

Subterm underbrush is found in valleys that have soils with caliche outcrop. They are rigid shrubs with height of 40 to 80 centimeters, the main species are: chaparro prieto (acacia regiduta), broom (almost spp), ash (lencophillum spp), and granjeno (cetis phallida).

In the fauna is located pigeon, Canadian goose and deer.

Suggest Edition