Citizen Services




The 1º of July of 1866 raised the Congregation Las Lajas to Villa de la Laja, at the expense of the Municipalities of Burgos and Reynosa, being its first President the C. Marcelino Serna. Subsequently, it was changed to the name it currently has in the year of 1869, to honor the memory of General Tamaulipeco Pedro José Méndez, military (1836 - 1866). Its architectural monuments are the former Municipal Presidency and the Parish of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart, built in the nineteenth century, which are located in the Municipal Headquarters in the streets Juárez and Allende, both built by originating from this population.

Chronology of historical events

  • 1869 Foundation of the Municipality.

Illustrious people

  • Pedro José Méndez (1836-1866) military.
  • Nativity Garza Leal (1905-1977) professor.

Architectural monuments

The Parish of Our Lady of Monserrat, built in the nineteenth century, is located on Calle de Juárez y Allende; the 19th century Municipal Presidency located on Calle Juárez.


Crushed with egg and kid.


Reatas de serda y cuero.


The municipality is located in the northeast portion of the State, on the left bank of the Rio Conchos, shortly before the confluence with the San Lorenzo. It has a territorial extension of 2,456.17 square kilometers, which represents the 2.79 percent of the total territory of the State, adjoins to the north, with the State of Nuevo León and the Municipalities of Reynosa and Río Bravo; to the south with the Municipalities of Burgos and San Fernando; to the east with that of San Fernando and to the west with Nuevo León. The average altitude of the territory is 152 meters above sea level, reaching an altitude of 228 meters above sea level.


Méndez is crossed by the Rio Conchos or San Fernando in the southern part, directing its runoff from west to east until it flows into the Laguna Madre, the Sierra Pamoranes, the Cerros de la Batalla del Venadito and the Sierra de San Carlos. numerous water currents, being those of greater importance those that give origin to the San Carlos river and the Fresnos stream.

Other catchments are Charco Noyola, Ebano and Mojarras; There are also a large number of intermittent currents.

It should be noted that the average annual rainfall fluctuates between the 500 and 600 millimeters, and in the month of maximum and minimum precipitation the average is from 54 to 125 millimeters, and from 4 to 32 millimeters, respectively.


The predominant climate is very hot with the presence of canine, extreme with maximum temperatures of 43º to 45ºC, being the hottest months of May to September. The average annual rainfall is from 4 to 32 millimeters.


In the territory of this municipality you can see four perfectly defined regions. Towards the northwest, the territory is flat with steppe plains that extend to other jurisdictions; in the center, the impressive mountain range of the pamoranes is developed in an extension of 40 kilometers from north to south; to the southeast, a fertile valley that serves as a bed for the sinuous river Conchos and in the southern part, the relief is formed by the last foothills of the Sierra de San Carlos, which penetrates in that direction.

Classification and land use

In the municipality there are soils xerosol, cambisol, calcic and lithosol, with some aptitude for agricultural use. Méndez presents two forms of land tenure: ejido and small property, with 70,804 hectares and 120,749 hectares, respectively, of the total municipality.

Flora and fauna

There are two types of vegetation. In the Northwest and South part, it presents prosopis deciduous deciduous forest and high subinerme scrub. El Monte Alto is located in valleys formed by streams; the bass is formed by sparse shrubs and xerophilous, in the mountainous part of the region. The abundant species are: mesquite, ebony, huizache, barreta, granjeno, anacahuita, baker, ash, tasajillo, nopal, bisbirinda, sweet stick and others.

The most common wild species are: white tail deer, quail, white wing pigeon and rabbit.

Suggest Edition