Citizen Services


San Carlos Office


Population founded the 6 of July of 1766 under the invocation of San Carlos Borromeo, with two hundred settlers from Linares, Burgos and Real de Borbón, in 1769, the Governor Vicente González de Santianes, moved the capital of the Colonia del Nuevo Santander to the Villa de San Carlos "where mining had begun to take strong momentum, which, offering better prospects for the benefit of the villagers, was of greater interest to the colony." By those years, the population already had some houses of terrado and a magnificent house of Government, "they worked more than 130 arts of benefit, including 3 haciendas that take advantage of hydraulic power and 4 of animal traction".

The Villa was protected by a casemate, a small fortification located at the point where the indigenous "dienteros" used to attack the Villa.

In 1811 the capital of the colony was moved to the Villa de Aguayo, today Cd. Victoria.

In 1869 the name was changed to Arteaga, which is currently not used.

Chronology of historical events

  • 1766 The June 6 foundation of San Carlos.
  • 1869 It is assigned the name of Arteaga.

Illustrious people

  • Horacio Terán
  • Francisco de la Fuente Oviedo
  • Francisco Valdés Méndez
  • Ignacio Martínez Elizondo (1844-1891) Medical, military, journalist and writer.
  • Josefa Zozaya(1822-1860)
  • Lilia Jimenez Zozaya (1916-)

Architectural monuments

Temple of San Carlos Borromeo, construction of end of the XVIII century; House of Captain Lores, built at the end of the XVIII century, later it was the school of crafts; Exhaust the Gavia; powder magazine of the New Santander, small and solid cube of two plants, also used as embrasure, headquarters of the Livestock Association built in the last decade of the nineteenth century, uses the ashlar as the basis of its architecture.

Historical monuments

Monuments to Benito Juárez, located in the Plaza of the same name, before Plaza Ocampo; Professor Lauro Aguirre, located in the school of the same name.

Literature, music and poetry

From Ignacio Martínez, the work entitled Recuerdo de un viaje por America, Europe, Africa and around the world.

Popular parties

The November 4 celebrates the anniversary party of the San Carlos Borromeo Foundation.


The kid in different stews.


Mezcal de maguey.


San Carlos, Municipality of the State of Tamaulipas, belongs to the Victoria sub-region, it is geographically located in the western mountainous area, in which Cerro del Diente stands out. The municipal seat is located in the city of San Carlos, at 24º 31' West longitude at an altitude of 432 meters above sea level.

It borders to the North with the Municipality of Burgos and the State of Nuevo León, to the South with the Municipality of Padilla, to the East with those of San Nicolás and Jiménez and to the West with Villagrán and Hidalgo. Its territorial extension is 2,912.40 square kilometers, which represents 3.37% of the total of the State. It is integrated by 261 localities, of which the most important are: the municipal head, Graciano Sánchez, Barranco Azul, La Gavia, José Silva Sánchez, El Gavilán and Unión Morales.


Most of the rivers and streams of the region are in the southern part of the municipality, the rains that fall in the lower part go down to the stream of San Lorenzo, which rises in Linares, Nuevo León and drains a part of its waters into the Laguna Madre at the height of San Fernando and another is poured on the San Carlos River, which captures the streams of Lobo, La Azufrosa, Dulce, Salado and Noche Buena to finally empty into the Vicente Guerrero Dam in the Municipality of Padilla .


In most of the municipality subhumid semi-warm climates with rain in summer are detected, with rainfall in the driest month of 40 mm. and one percent of winter rain between 5 and 10.2. The temperature is very variable with a minimum of 6ºC and maximum of 45ºC.

The predominant winds blow from the southwest, the so-called Huasteco.


The Municipality is formed by plains and hills of little slope. The western portion is formed by mountains, highlighting the Sierra de San Carlos.

Based on the classification of the soils, chestnut or chesnut soils are located to the south with an organic matter content in the accumulation horizon that varies from 3 to 5 percent; in the center, arbomífero soils of reddish brown color and yellow of forests, to the north and the west, stony and slender soils with argillaceous sandy texture happening the opposite in the zones of plain and valleys where the soils are higher, thin soils are located, calcareous with a high percentage of salts. With regard to land tenure, 61,975 hectares correspond to the ejido regime, distributed in 43 ejidos, and 207,299 hectares to the property.

Flora and fauna

The vegetation generally comprises high and low thorny bushes. The high mountain is found in valleys formed by streams; the low one is made up of sparse and xerophilous bushes, and is located in the mountainous part of the region except for the hill of the Tooth, where there is a mountain of conifers. The most abundant species are mesquite, ebony, huizache, barreta, granjeno, anacahuita, tambourine, cenizo, tasajillo, nopal, bisbirinda and sweet rod.

In the high part of the hill they are wild animals such as viper, boar, puma and in the other part of the territory, deer, armadillo, owl and wild turkey.

Suggest Edition